Skip to content

Shoshoni Illustrated Book Series

The illustrated books have been formally published since 2012.  Currently, there are 17 published illustrated books.

Many of the books are adaptations of traditional stories based on recordings from the Wick R. Miller Collection.  Other books focus on teaching the Shoshoni language (basic vocabulary and sentence structure) in a fun and visually-appealing way. The books were illustrated and developed by participants of the Shoshone/Goshute Youth Language Apprenticeship Program from 2009 - 2016.

The published hard copy books are not available for request or purchase at this time, but video books are available at any time.

Traditional Stories

Itsappeh wa’ai Toyatukkupittsih – Coyote and Mountain Lion (artwork redone in 2012)

Mea Nawapaiya – Creation of the Months

Tapai ma’ai Tapu – Cottontail and Sun

Tempin Ainkwantuhinte – Rolling Rock (artwork redone in 2012)

Pia Toya – Big Mountain

Twelve – Twelve (artwork redone in 2012)



Kutise Itsappeh – Crazy Coyote

Tammen Newe Tepooh – Our Shoshoni Writing

Newe Tetsee – Counting Indian

Ne Toko ma’ai Mimiakwantu’i – I’m Going on a Walk with Grandpa

Nian Nanewenee – My Family

Tsaan Tekkapeha Yekwi – Our food gathering


Sokopittan Nanewenee Hakai Nemmi’ite? – How do animals move?

Grammar (instrumental and directionals)

Pia Kuittsunan Tua – Baby Buffalo

Grammar (instrumental and directionals)

Last Updated: 6/7/21